M3G model viewer

Perilith Knight

Perilith Knight

Recently I was busy modeling and animating a lower-poly replacement for Perilith Knight meant to be used with JME game I’m working on. All was dandy as long as I was working inside Blender. I exported the model a few times and it was all looking fine as a static mesh. Animated model was a whole different story…

I ran into all kinds of issues from animation not being played at all, being played at the wrong speed, wrong vertices being animated… long story short I needed a tool to preview model from all angles, at different animation steps, scaled, rotated, mashed… I needed a M3G model viewer.

Monster download of Wizzer Works’ M3G Viewer didn’t really bring the expected benefits as it refused to import any of my models. Nifty 🙂 A desktop application would be nice but at the end of the day what really counts is how a model looks on an actual device so a simple J2ME M3G viewer was the way to go.

If you think the left guy seems familiar you may be right. Although the model is different the texture is the same 😉 Actually I think I messed up with texturing of the knight too.

modelview

J2ME M3G model viewer

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “M3G model viewer”

  1. Anton Says:

    Can you share your model viewer? I would like to see how did you implement your animation controller system 🙂 Mine is working fine but maybe I’m missing something 🙂

Leave a Reply

